The Key First Nation

Historical and Alternate Community Names

Ahtahpeekaeekay, Ootahpeekaekey, Owtahpeekakaw, Outahpeekaeekay, Reserve no. 065

Reserves, Settlements, Villages

The Key Indian Reserve No. 65, Treaty Four Reserve Grounds No. 77

General Information

The Key First Nation is a Nêhiyaw (Cree) and Anishinaabe (Ojibwe, Saulteaux) Community located to the north-east of Yorkton, Saskatchewan. They are signatories to Treaty 4, which the group signed in 1875. As of 2022, The Key First Nation has a registered population of 1,501.

Support Services and Programs Available to Community Members

The Key

Works Consulted

Government of Canada; Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada; Communications Branch, “First Nation Profiles,” fact sheet; resource list, November 14, 2008,

“Indigenous Saskatchewan Encyclopedia | University of Saskatchewan,” accessed November 29, 2022,

Library and Archives Canada, “Indexes of Western First Nations Bands: Languages, Agencies, Inspectorates, and Regional Offices,” August 18, 2022,