Pheasant Rump Nakota

Historical and Alternate Community Names

Croup de Pheasant, La Croup de Pheasant, Le Croup de Pheasant, Le Croupe de Pheasant, Reserve no. 068

Reserves, Settlements, and Villages

Pheasant Rump Nakota Indian Reserve No. 68 (various), Treaty Four Reserve Grounds No. 77

General Information

Pheasant Rump Nakota are a Nakota First Nation located to the south-east of Regina, Saskatchewan. They are signatories to Treaty 4, which the group signed in 1878. As of 2022, Pheasant Rump Nakota has a population of 459. Pheasant Rump Nakota was amalgamated with White Bear First Nation in 1901, but was reconstituted as an independent Band in 1990.

Support Services and Programs Available to Community Members

Pheasant Rump

Works Consulted

Government of Canada; Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada; Communications Branch, “First Nation Profiles,” fact sheet; resource list, November 14, 2008,

“Indigenous Saskatchewan Encyclopedia | University of Saskatchewan,” accessed November 29, 2022,

Library and Archives Canada, “Indexes of Western First Nations Bands: Languages, Agencies, Inspectorates, and Regional Offices,” August 18, 2022,